It is compulsory for each school in England and Wales to have a Board of Governors. The Board of Governors is responsible for the overall leadership and management of a school.

Where do Governors come from?

Members of the Governing Board are valued volunteers and bring a wide range of skills, experience and expertise for the benefit of our school. Parents and members of the local communities are often in the best position to know what a school really needs and the issues facing it. Governing Boards are the strategic decision makers and vision setters in every school and academy. They play a vital role in ensuring the best possible education for every child by creating robust accountability for school leaders. Many of our Governors have detailed knowledge of Milverton school and its priorities.

The Board of Governors has three core strategic functions:

  1. Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction.
  2. Holding the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils.
  3. Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.

At present the Governing Board comprises of ten Governors and one Associate Member plus the Head Teacher. 

The work of the Governing Body is handled through two committees - Finance, Personnel & Premises Committee and the Education Committee.

Any queries should be addressed to the Clerk to the Governors, Marian Barlow, at the school on 01398 400439 or 


Type of Governor

Date of Appointment

Date Stepped Down

Full Board of Governors

Committee Roles

Business Name

Nature of Business

Adrian Landon Co-Opted Governor 23.03.2016   Chair of Governors All n/a n/a
Linda Burton LA Governor 20.09.2017   Vice Chair Education Committee n/a n/a



Co-Opted Governor

29.11.2018   Member Education Committee n/a n/a

Ewan Robertson

Co-Opted Governor




Chair of FP&P and Pay and Appraisal



Lydia Lapthorn

Co-Opted Governor




Education Committee

Field Studies Council

Environmental education charity.

Stephen Penny

Staff Governor




Education Committee



Anna Kyle Parent Governor 17.5.2017   Member Education Committee n/a n/a

Richard Stead





Chair Education Committee



Linda Burton LA Governor 20.09.2017   Vice Chair Education Committee n/a n/a
Andy Wooller Parent Governor 11.12.2017   Member FP&P n/a n/a
Chris Mann Co-Opted 31.01.2018   Member FP&P n/a n/a
David Malcolm Co-Opted 11.07.2018   Member FP&P n/a n/a
Lindsey Waddington Co-Opted 26.11.2014 20.7.18        
Lindsey Tawse Co-Opted 21.09.2016 20.7.18        
Joanne Pike Co-Opted Governor 7.5.2014 21.3.2017        
Jean Ainsworth Smith Associate Member 23.9.2016 31.1.2017        
Sheila Hummel Co-Opted Governor 26.11.2014 19.2.2018        
Alex Wade Parent Governor 23.9.15 22.9.2018        

Marian Barlow

Clerk to Governors







Governor FGB Attendance

Governors - Meeting minutes